December 22, 2008

A Good Day for Soup

Posted in Food tagged , at 11:05 pm by bookwoman

So, the weather is turing to actual winter weather in our little part of PA these days.  Yesterday, I was curled up on the couch under a blanket for most of the day.  Part way through the afternoon, Geek Boy came to me and asked if I would make soup today.  If I made a shopping list, he would make a trip to the produce store. 

Soup has been a regular thing at Chez Bookwoman and Geek Boy for about  a year.  I try to make a batch every weekend.  It’s then packed up in single serving containers and we have lunch for the week.  Since the school year started, I’ve been particularly ambitious, often making two soups each week for variety.  This is partly of necessity.  The school where I work does not have a cafeteria, so I have to bring my lunch each day.  There is an option to order from a local pizza shop, but I’m trying to be healthful and frugal.  So, homemade lunch it is.  (With a few Trader Joe’s noodle soup packets stored in my desk for those days when I forget.)

The receptionist at school is also a soup maker and eater.  And she is one of the sweetest people you would ever want to meet.  One day I mentioned I was eating canned soup (but it was Amy’s, so it was good).  The next morning she gave me a container of her homemade soup because she didn’t want me eating canned.  And as a Christmas gift, she gave me The Complete Book of 400 Soups.

So, with Geek Boy’s offer to go out in search of produce, I spent the day perusing the options.  We finally decided on Corn and Sweet Potato Soup.  Geek Boy is my sous chef, taking care of doing all of the chopping and dicing…his knife skills are far superior to mine.   This particular soup has two things going for it.  First, it has corn.  There’s something about corn in soup that is just extra warming to me.  (I made a corn chowder a few weeks back that is one of my top ten favorites.)  Second, it’s one of those soups where you puree half and then stir the pureed portion back into the pot.  So, you get a slightly thick, slightly chunky soup.

soup-blender

I have found that I really prefer my blender over the food processor for this job…especially since Geek Boy found the beehive blender at a yard sale this summer.  It’s just so cool to use. 

So, we’ve got a nice warm soup to get us through the week.  Bring on the winter weather!

 

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. Raya said,

    I am hating that your homemade soup is actually edible. I am still trying to perfect soup from left over turkey. The Mister eats it, but the kids opt for PBand J. I am definitley getting this book.


Leave a Reply

