January 1, 2009

Resolved…

Posted in Fiber tagged , , , at 11:37 pm by bookwoman

I have never liked making new years resolutions.  Most of the time, I joke that the only resolution I ever kept was several years ago when I resolved not to make any more resolutions.  Plus, it always seemed to make more sense to make “new year” resolutions at my birthday, because that’s really my new year.  Either way, I don’t resolve on January 1st. 

However, I can be sucked into setting goals.  Somehow, I’ve been enticed by this one.

Apparently 2009 is the year I lose my mind.

Apparently 2009 is the year I lose my mind.

In fairness to myself, I did come up with my goals first, and then found NaKniSweMoDo (rav group).  My idea for 2009, knitting wise, was simple.  I have lots of knitting books, and continue to add to my library.  But, I sometimes get so distracted by neat designs I find on-line that I forget to check out my own pattern stash.  So, for 2009, I want to make a true effort to knit from the books I have.

To that end, I had a little credit card falling down incident.  (Does it count as falling on your credit card when it’s an on-line order?)  I got sucked into the Webs end of the year sale.  There are two sweaters I’ve been wanting to make:  Veronik Avery’s Aspen Top Down Sweater and the Women’s Simple Pullover from Melissa Leapman’s Cables Untangled.   I feel like the Simple Pullover is a cop-out, considering all of the gorgeous, complicated sweaters in that book.  But I just want something quick and cute.  So, thanks to the end of the year sale, I got a two sweaters worth of yarn for under $50.

Plus, I was already working on Amelia, which I love.  And even though it would have crossed the January 1st line, and completing projects counts for NaKniSweMoDo, I decided to put it aside and concentrate on something that has a deadline.

I learned to knit when I found out I was going to be an aunt, six years ago.  The first thing I ever made was a blanket for the Chickpea.  Then I made a lot of blankets.  Then I got tired of blankets.  After my first year of knitting, blankets were reserved for the siblings of those who had already received blankets.  Thus, our nephew, Geek Boy Jr., has one.  And since the Niece-to-Be-Named-in-January is due to make her debut any day now, I needed to get cracking on her blanket.  Originally she was expected in mid-January, but apparently the doctors were a bit off in their estimations, and my sister-in-law was having contractions on Christmas day.

I already had the yarn, bought before we heard if we were expecting a niece or nephew.  Cascade Superwash in blue, green, yellow and red.  A lovely quilter who happened to be at Slip Knot helped me choose the colors, since I have no sense of color design.  And I would say she did a great job, wouldn’t you?

What would color-impaired knitters do without kind quilters?

What would color-impaired knitters do without kind quilters?

I had another pattern in mind, but in keeping with my goal to knit from my books, I decided to try the Moderne Baby Blanket (rav link) from Mason-Dixon Knitting.  I wasn’t sure I’d like it, picking up sitches falling into the “too fiddly” category for me.  However, picking up stitches in garter stitch is so very simple.  This has been a great veg out project and has gone quite quickly.  I’ve been working on it for five days (and yesterday didn’t do any knitting on it at all) and I’m already on the sixth block.  Unfortunately, I just ran out of red.  So, there will be a return trip to Slip Knot this weekend.  Then I can finish this off, and get back to Amelia and all of my 2009 insanity.

Leave a Reply

